BHS Band Spring Concert


Mr. James Sewell directing the Symphonic band (photo by Golden Graffiti)

On Tuesday, May 9, the Bainbridge High School Concert and Symphonic band hosted their final performance of the year. The Concert Band performed first, “ The Cumberland Cross”, “The Rowing Tree”, “The Great Steamboat Race”, and ”Choose Joy”. The Symphonic Band performed soon after. They performed, “March of 1941”, “Songs of Sailor and Sea”, “March of Trolls”, and then after awards they performed, “The Genius of Ray Charles” The following awards were given out:

Outstanding Danceline – Madelyn Lowe, Ashariah Keaton 

Outstanding Colorguard – Katie Ross, Brianna Henry 

Outstanding Freshman – Jada Sanders, Emily Barrett, Larson Long

 Outstanding Sophomore – J.T. Powell, Lee Howell, Natalie Moore, Jerilyn Effland 

Outstanding Junior – Hannah Copeland, Brooklyn Wade, Ava Prouse, Emma Thompson

National School Marching Band Award – Jagavious Wallace 

Outstanding Concert Band Member – Nylha Henry, Madison King

All-State Band – Lee Howell 

Senior Awards – Erin Alday, William Amerison, Emmalee Bellflower, Kaitlyn Bennett, Lily Byrd, Clayton Carter, Kaylee Corriveau, Miles DeRocco, Josh Fillingame, Kyla Green, Billy Hand, Faith Harden, Brianna Henry, Alena Jenkins, Zyneal Jenkins, Ashariah keaton, Madelyn Lowe, Ashanti Martin, Ramsey Mathews, Annalisa Nix, Mauro Padron JR., Jaden Preston, Katie Ross, Wade Spooner, Tiyanah Sweet, Brennyn Timmons, Keon Thompson, Jaqavious Wallace,and Luke Wright

Optimism – Luke Wright, William Amerison 

Leonard Bernstein – Anastasia Davis

Quincy Jones – Eli Logue

Director’s Award – Logan Roman, Tyler Godwin

Patrick Gilmore – Josh Fillingame

Woody Herman – Kaylee Corriveau, Linda Ambrocio

Louis Armstrong – Kinsey Ward, Nourah Holt

John M. Long – Thomas Spooner, Zyneal Jenkins

John Philip Sousa – Mauro Padron

Bailey Brock Danceline Scholarship – Brennyn Timmons

Emory Edwin & Kathleen Ivey Johnson Music Scholarship – Thomas Spooner

Jean Alderman Service to Band Scholarship – Mauro Padron

PW Scholarship – Josh Fillingame

Joe Crine Award – Decatur County School Nutrition

Appreciation Award – Donna Stegall

Honorary Life Membership – Tim Cochran

Honorary Band Directors – Jean Alderman

Jean Alderman Award – Eddy Ward