Chicago Comes to BHS



Congratulations to Chicago cast.

Emily Franke, Senior Reporter

On December 14 and 15, the Bainbridge High School Drama Club held auditions for “Chicago: Teen Edition.” The judges were Leigh Powell, JoAnn Moore, and Christopher Poppell, and the audition consisted of singing, dancing, and acting. Students chose a song from a list on the Drama Club website to sing individually for the judges. After learning the choreography of “All That Jazz” as a group, auditionees split up into groups of four and performed together. The acting portion of the auditions consisted of small groups reading excerpts of the script for the judges.

The first practice will be held on January 18 in the Drama room and will be a read-through of the script. Performances will be held at the Kirbo Center. There is a possible preview April 25. Opening night is April 27 at 7:00 p.m.  A show for the school will be at 8:30 a.m. on April 28. Public shows will take place April 28 at 7:00 p.m. and April 29 at 2:00 p.m. and at 7:00 p.m.

The full cast list was released in the Google Classroom, and the majority of the roles are double cast. The cast is as follows:

  • Velma Kelly: Ashley McClanahan/Shayla Allen
  • Roxie Hart: Ashariah Keaton/Natalie Moore
  • Fred Casely: Cooper Genovar/Mauro Padron
  • Sergeant Fogerty: Alex Hatcher/Holten Dollar
  • Amos Hart: Eli Logue/Cameron Whigham
  • Matron “Mama” Morton: Sanaa’ Hines/Mya Backey
  • Billy Flynn: Jaqavious Wallace/Kendrick Henry
  • Mary Sunshine: Isabelle Campbell/Breyanna Collier
  • Go-to-Hell-Kitty: Carli Houston
  • Master of Ceremonies (Martin Harrison): Skylar Jones/Andreika “AJ” Green
  • Harry: Erick Villalobos
  • Aaron: Mitchell Carter
  • Judge: John Stout
  • Clerk of the Court: Ferris Lewis

Merry Murderesses:

  • Liz: Ava Prouse
  • Annie: Gurpreet Kaur
  • June: Sariyah Porter
  • Hunyak: Emily Franke
  • Mona: Teri Mccord

Featured Dancers: Julia Raye Key, Larsen Long, Bailey Miller, Ashley Moseley, Patricia Oliver, Careygan Palmer, Bansi Patel, Ti’Yanah Sweet, Dallis Thompson, Emma Thompson, Brennyn Timmons, Rilee Timmons


Ensemble: Julie Bocanegra, Emma Bradford, Brooklyn Dawkins, Jerilyn Effland, Ja’Maya Griffin, Daegan Johnson, Gurpreet Kaur, Shakira Lawrence, Ferris Lewis, Sahkari Mann-McNeill, Alyssa McClanahan, Adrianna Palma, Lesley Rivera-Vargas, Sarah Shaw, Logan Taylor